Some updates, and a card

Hello internet! I have been away for so long, and have some updates to share.

Firstly, I quit my day job! It does feel quite scary to no longer have a regular income to rely on, but after going back and forth and making countless pros and cons lists, I came to the decision that it was the right thing to do. There were many factors that led to this decision, but ultimately, what I love most about it is that it will allow me to focus on what I truly enjoy – being creative, and being around people who love being creative.

Secondly, after some hiccups, Dave, my family and I finally fixed the date – wedding date, that is! It will be a July wedding, and after much reluctance, I agreed that it would *not* be a DIY celebration. While I had initially planned to make my own cards, wedding favours and some of the decor, my family convinced me that weddings are stressful enough on their own without having to deal with DIY mishaps. The one thing I am doing myself though, is sewing my own wedding dress.

Okay, yeah, I know that sounds a bit crazy, especially since I’m no couturier and my skills are at novice-level…at best. But, I plan to keep the design simple, give myself a lot of time for trial and error, and allow myself to accept and love my mistakes, if – ok, when – they happen.

Thirdly, I have been bitten by the card making bug! Yes, yet another expensive hobby I don’t need…but can’t help loving!

I’m not sure what it is that attracts me to card-making…I don’t send postal mail very often, and my circle of friends and family aren’t in the habit of exchanging cards and handmade gifts. For me, I think its the fact that it’s a relatively small project, a bite-sized cookie, if you will, and it’s really up to you how much or how little time and effort you want to put into it. Either way, you can still achieve a great outcome each time.

Most of my card making supplies are in the USA at the moment so when the urge hit me to put together a card, I tried to quell it. Make a card without stamps, dies, copic markers or expensive watercolour sets?! Nah, surely there’d be no fun in that. But the urge kept coming back.

So, I followed my heart.

The card below is a simple side fold A2 card with a watercolour background and a no-frills sentiment. The card front is not watercolour paper since I didn’t have any on hand – its just drawing block paper I picked up from Popular. :p And surprisingly, it held up well. Any warping was fixed by using a ton of double sided tape on the back side. I didn’t have any enamel dot embellishments so I used a hole puncher and punched small circles out of glitter craft foam and attached using some glossy accents. I used cheapy Pentel tube watercolours which actually turned out decent. The sentiment was cut out using my Cricut Expore Air using purple shimmer cardstock and vellum. (Yes, the Explore Air can cut fragile materials such as vellum without tearing!). I then added some sequins I picked up from People’s Park Complex donkey years back.

13177267_10153866004292639_4820510564533608108_n

What did I achieve? Certainly not a “designer” card. But, what can I say. It was so satisfying to sit at my table, crank out a project from start to finish, and just allow myself to indulge in a bit of creative me-time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

