Quick update

Life has been getting kinda busy around here! But, Im happy to report that I have been working hard at keeping to my daily creative challenge – that is, to do at least one creative activity a day.

My favourite make so far has to be the card I made using the Chirpy Chirp Chirp stamp set and coordinating dies from Lawn Fawn. The little chickies couldnt be cuter and I really enjoyed creating a scene around them. For the background, I used Selley’s No More Gaps (basically, caulking for windows) over a Heidi Swapp stencil. I didn’t have a palette knife at the time so I used a protractor to spread the paste LOL. Hey, needs must.

20160526_033609

For the other two cards, I used the Flutter By stamp set and dies also by Lawn Fawn. I struggled a bit with these.

For the trio of flowers, my plan was to watercolour them with distress inks. Unfortunately my ink bled and in an effort to save the flowers, I sopped up the colour which gave them a faded, grungy look. I added some wink of stella and a generous coating of glossy accents to finish them off. I ended up quite liking this card, and you’ll have to take my word for it because the picture I took really doesn’t do it justice.

20160527_014632

For the single flower, I was really just looking for an opportunity to practice using my Copics. I really struggled to pull a card together using the flower and butterfly but in the end I think it turned out ok. Just “ok”.

20160527_213608

Speaking of Copics, my order from ArtFriend came today! I debated getting a set or buying individual markers. The price per marker would be cheaper in a set but there’d be markers in there I wouldn’t need/want. In the end I decided to pay more per marker and get them individually but I was careful to get markers I’ve seen blend really well together. I’m really happy with my choices and will be using these a lot more now.

I have two more finished cards to share, which hopefully I will get around to doing over the weekend…

Leave a Reply

